Due January 15
Click here for application form

This award recognizes star qualities in a high school or college student who competes in the sport of bowling. Star qualities include distinguished certified bowling performances on state, local, national, international, Team USA, or collegiate levels; as well as academic achievement and leadership. The award winner(s) receive a $2,500 Scholarship credited to their USBC SMART Account to assist in furthering their education.

All high school seniors and currently enrolled college students are encouraged to apply. This award is both academically and sport performance graded. The scores of our youth bowlers are rising as fast as the cost of a college education in today’s economy.  You can help towards the expenses of a “college bound” youth bowler from your association, who you feel is eligible for this annual award, simply by submitting your nomination by the deadline date.  Who knows? One or more youngsters, who could qualify, may be “right under your nose”!


  1. The male or female nominee shall be:
  2. An active member of the California USBC Association (Youth or Collegiate) and an amateur as defined by USBC rules.
  3. A graduating HIGH SCHOOL SENIOR who has APPLIED TO — OR — is currently attending an accredited University, Junior College or Vocational Institution.
  4. Younger than 20 years as of August 1, preceding the application date.
  5. A current season bowler with a minimum average of 175 and an outstanding record of bowling achievements in the past and current seasons.
  6. Recorded as having minimum of 2.0 GPA or equivalent.


2022     Daniel Hong, Fullerton
2020     Leoj Chin, Montclair
2019     Roman Heath, Modesto
2015     Wesley Low, Jr., Palmdale
2014     Tre Webber, Rohnert Park
2012     Ryan Peden, Sanger
2011     Anthony Rose, Carpinteria
2010     Spencer Jon Dukes, San Diego
2009     Michael Fujita, Jr., El Sobrante
2008     Doug Frisbie, Concord
2007     Doug Lauer, Twenty-Nine Palms
2006*    Jerell Maneja, San Francisco
2004*    Marvin Anadilla, Bakersfield
2003*    Patrick Haggerty, Weimar
2002*    Doane Cole, Murrieta
2001*    Aris Anadilla, Bakersfield
2000*    Scott Norton, Cypress
1999*    James Kushner, Thousand Oaks
1997*    Jon Brandon, Los Angeles
1995*    Daniel Lew, Fairfield
1994*    Mark Davis, Santa Maria
1993*    Douglas Wilcox, Sacramento
1991*    Matthew Arvanitis, Vista


2023      Emma Shaner, Canyon Country
2022      Pamela Faller, Glendale
2020      Jennifer Loredo, Fresno
2010      Nicole Shepard, Goleta
2008      Samantha Jimenez, Rowland Heights
2007      Rose Brown, Modesto
2006*    Nicole Miller, Petaluma
2005*    April Lemieux, Sacramento
2003*    Michelle Quirk, Roseville
2002*    Katrina Gartin, Whittier
2001*    Kristyn Lee, Norwalk
2000*    Melissa Bellinder, Fullerton
1999*    Jackie Edwards, Simi Valley
1998*    Tracy Castro, Burlingame
1997*    Traci Anderson, Fresno
1996*    Catherine Krasner, Thousand Oaks
1995*    Lindsay Moore, Modesto
1993*    Pamela Inloes, Modesto
1992*    Kellie Estrada, Wilmington
1991*    Kimberly Wong, Fresno
1990*    Sandy Viegas, Citrus Heights
1989*    Lynda Norry, Concord
1988*    Dionne Lee, Modesto

*Recipient under California Women’s Bowling Association